Top Ten Things That Will Make Me Instantly Want To Read A Book

Thanks to The Broke and the Bookish, the book blogging world has a trusty, interesting and evergreen series that we can fall back on every week – the Top Ten Tuesday series. And this week’s topic is “Top Ten Things Things That Will Make Me Instantly Want To Read A Book.” Well, where do I start? I have a rather long list of things that will put a book on my radar. Here’s my attempt at picking the ten most important:

  1. “Fantasy”: Just say the word fantasy and you can be sure that the next few minutes you will be fielding a bunch of questions that I will throw at you left, right and center. Yes, in case that exaggerated explanation wasn’t clear, I love the fantasy genre. And this year has been quite perfect for me, what with me finding (and finishing) 6 amazing fantasy books, which I will review very soon.
  2. “Eoin Colfer”: One of the few children’s authors I have grown up with, and continue to adore is Eoin Colfer. Author of the beloved Artemis Fowl series, which follows the life and adventures of a young boy who encounters the supernatural and tackles everything that comes his way with attitude and arrogance, Colfer has a writing style that’s easy to read and at the same time gripping.
  3. “Neil Gaiman”: Nothing this author does will ever feel normal. He finds ways to take the abnormal, the normal and the fantastic and make it feel out of this world. If there is one author, whose work I can read at anytime, anywhere, it Gaiman’s. His first book that I read, The Ocean at the End of the Lane, was the beginning of a journey through magical worlds that I can never get enough of.
  4. “Matthew Reilly”: Whether it’s Contest, Area 7, Ice Station or The Seven Ancient Wonders, Reilly has never failed to amaze me. Well, never maybe a bit of an exaggeration, because his The Great Zoo of China kind of did disappoint me. That aside, Reilly’s books have (almost) always been ones that have given me the only kind of adrenaline rush that one can get sitting on a couch. Even today, when I walk into a store the first books I look for are Reilly’s.
  5. “Tear-Jerker”: Well, I find it very difficult to resist a book that promises to be a tear-jerker. It’s not everyday that you hear about a book that has the right amount of drama, enough to make it feel real enough to elicit an emotional response from me. I’m not a big fan of sappy stories, but it feels good to know that there are authors who take their work seriously enough to get me to feel. Classic examples were Love Story by Erich Segal, My Sister’s Keeper by Jodi Picoult, and To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee.
  6. “Mystery”: Use the word “mystery” for a book and I will be begging for it relentlessly and shamelessly. I simply cannot, at all resist a book that’s in the mystery genre. I have spent a good few years of my life just boring my way through one mystery book after another. From Enid Blyton’s Famous Five and Secret Seven to Nancy Drew books, from Greg Iles’ Turning Angel to Dan Brown’s Angels and Demons, I have spent hours and days with mystery books.
  7. “Psychological Thriller”: Now here’s a genre that I love but haven’t done enough justice to. So, in case I hear someone say “psychological thriller”, I will likely be asking for the book. One of the books I recently read in this genre was Before I Go to Sleep by SJ Watson, which I absolutely loved.
  8. “Dragons”: Yes, I have a giant soft spot for these huge raging monsters. From the gentle Saphira in Eragon to the vicious Smaug in The Hobbit, dragons warm the cockles of my heart. Don’t ask me why. Their sheer size and power are so overwhelming that they immediately add a ton of adventure to any book that deigns to carry them.
  9. Medical Fiction”: Oh yes, though this comes 9th on this list, it is by no means any less important than all the ones preceding it, even dragons. Like the mystery genre, medical fiction has been a huge huge part of my reading list. And for good reason. With authors like Michael Crichton and Robin Cook delivering to expectations time and time again, I have never had a reason to not look forward to a medical drama. It’s one of my default go-to book genres, no matter what my mood.
  10. “Must Read”: Well, like all bibliophiles, say the words “must-read” and I will instantly want to read the book, even if it is by authors who I am not too fond of – Somerset Maugham, George RR Martin or even Stephen King. I will give a must read a try, even if I have already given a book a shot and abandoned it midway.

Until the next Top Ten Tuesday, cheers and happy reading!

 

7 thoughts on “Top Ten Things That Will Make Me Instantly Want To Read A Book

Add yours

  1. I’m with you on the Psychological Thriller point. I also can’t resist a book that skips around between the point of view of a variety of characters, or when it jumps around in time!

    Liked by 2 people

      1. The most recent that I read was The Night Circus. Another that comes to mind is A Visit From the Goon Squad, and if I remember correctly, Never Let Me Go. Enjoy!

        Like

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

