Book Beginnings on Fridays – Dean Koontz’s Cold Fire

Book Beginnings on Fridays is a feature started by Rose City Reader, and today, I am doing a post related to it. Right now I am smack dab in the middle of a couple of books, and Dean Koontz’ Cold Fire is one of them. So, let me tell you a little bit about what I initially thought when I read the first line of the book: “Even before the events in the supermarket, Jim Ironheart knew what was going to happen.” Oh well, let me admit this – I was excited when I read the first line.

It excited me in such a refreshing way because I haven’t read a thriller in a really long time. The year ended with the Harry Potter book series and a few pages of Haruki Murakami’s Hard-Boiled Wonderland and the End of the World. And prior to these books, I had been reading Neil Gaiman’s How the Marquis got his Coat Back and one part of Franz Kafka’s Metamorphosis, which I am yet to complete. While these are amazing books, they are in the fantasy genre, which I love, but only second to action, adventure and medical thrillers.

That’s where books by authors like Mathew Reilly, James Rollins, Robin Cook and Dan Brown (yes, I will explain this someday) come in. I love this genre of books. It’s these kind of books that keep me going. Last year, when I took up the Goodreads Challenge, I also took up a personal challenge to read as many types of books as there are months in a year. And that meant I had identified 12 genres of books that I promised myself to read. This meant restricting the number of books that I love. Don’t get me wrong, I loved the experience. But, restarting with books from this genre after a long and dry spell has indeed been refreshing.

So, you can imagine how excited I basically am, to start Dean Koontz’s Cold Fire. I hope this justifies why I have derailed completely from the topic of this post to a full-on rave. Now, let me get back to the book beginning. This line gave me the feeling that I was in for a nice roller-coaster of a ride – one that I would very much enjoy. And let me tell you, I’m almost 3/4th ways into the book, and I’m feeling really happy.

2 thoughts on “Book Beginnings on Fridays – Dean Koontz’s Cold Fire

Add yours

  1. I’ve read 3 books of Dean Koontz’s. The third one was 77 Shadow Street, which I did not like reading one bit. But I did love the first 2. I’ve been thinking about reading his other books. I think I’ll start with the one you mentioned in your post!😁

    Like

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

