Book Beginnings on Fridays: Franz Kafka’s Metamorphosis

Having been away from my blog for nearly a month, I have accumulated topics I want to talk about. Yet, I haven’t started with them because I know that these posts will take time. It’s time I (desperately) need to divide between reading and blogging so that I meet my Goodreads Challenge on the one hand, and stay on track with my blogging goals on the other. So, I decided to take inspiration from Rose City Reader and do one of their bookish memes – Book Beginnings on Fridays.

It was either this or The Friday 56 by Freda’s Voice. Book Beginnings on Friday is a meme in which you share the first line of the book you are currently reading. Friday 56 follows a similar concept, where you share a line or a few from the 56th page of the book you’re reading. I chose Book Beginnings on Friday because the first sentence of the book I’m reading deserves to be shared. It just does.

Here’s what it is:
“One morning, when Gregor Samsa woke from troubled dreams, he found himself transformed in his bed into a horrible vermin.”

This first line from Metamorphosis by Franz Kafka very succinctly puts the dilemma that forms the basis of the book right in the first sentence. It’s not hidden in somewhere in the middle of the book. It’s not sneakily left to the reader’s imagination. It’s there, in the first sentence. It’s there so that the reader does not have to wade through pages of prelude and drama to get to the problem.

In the first line itself, Gregor Samsa (notice how you are given the full name – not Gregor, not Samsa, not Mr. Samsa, not “I”) discovers he has a problem. And you, the reader, get to journey with him as he discovers all about his new reality and his new life. Or is it all just a dream? I don’t know. I’m yet to discover. I’m still on page 15 of the 100 page book. And I sincerely can not wait (in a good way) to finish it.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

