2016 Goodreads Challenge Update

I’ve been contemplating doing a Goodreads Challenge update post and have successfully procrastinated till now. As of today, I have finished 30 books this year! *quick moondance* That’s a little over half my challenge goal. At the beginning of the year I had decided that I would work my way through 50 books this year and I am determined to go through with it. 

Anyway, I’ve had a great time taking up this challenge. Let me quickly recap 5 of the best things about the Goodreads Challenge: 

  1. It’s been one of the biggest driving forces of this blog. When I took up the challenge I wanted to chronicle this journey – of being an (aspiring) avid reader. I know there are people who read 3 to 4 books a week, where I manage to just about speak through a book and a half or 2 if I’m lucky. Nevertheless, in this time I’ve realized that part of what makes my time reading these books all the more interesting is this mad scramble that I’ve got into the habit of, to share my thoughts with you guys! And that’s exciting!
  2. During this challenge I’ve also managed to read books that I would otherwise have put off. An added benefit of blogging this challenge has been that in the past few months I have visited several blogs and read reviews of books and seen TBR lists that have all inspired me to discover books like Cinder and Night Circus.
  3. I’ve managed to pick up my reading pace to what it was before I hit the slump 2 years ago, where I would read books if and when I had time. And I would stop if I lost interest midway (which naturally would happen if there’s something gap of more than 3 to 4 days between pages). Now I don’t need much self-motivation to finish a book. It happens quite automatically. Start a book? Get around to finishing it soon!
  4. Yet another bonus of blogging this challenge has been that while I read faster, I pay attention to detail so that I can blog it. Otherwise I have tendency to lose myself in a book when I’m reading it and then being unable to recollect much later on.
  5. This is the first thing I did when I set my challenge – excitedly decided reading themes for the entire year. And I stuck to them successfully for a good half of the year – children’s books, suspense, fantasy.. I’ve stopped themes for this and the upcoming months because I have one too many book series that are open and big standalone books that need to be finished.

Of course, this is just 5 of the many good things to come out of the 2016 Goodreads Challenge. There are many many more. When I compile the next 5, I will update this post. Until then, cheers to the challenge! And if you’d like to check out my reviews of 5 of my favourite books of the year, check out the links below:

SJ Watson’s Before I go to Sleep

LM Montgomery’s Anne of Avonlea

Aravind Adigas’ The White Tiger 

Neil Gaiman’s Neverwhere

Emma Donoghue’s Room

9 thoughts on “2016 Goodreads Challenge Update

Add yours

  1. I am also doing the Goodreads challenge for 50 books this year. However, I do read more than that, so the challenge for me is to find 50 interesting books and to blog about them. I’m about half way there, but I’ve go a lot of time off of work coming to catch up :).
    Good luck with your challenge!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

