Top Ten Tuesday: Books with a Fantasy Setting

It’s time for another Top Ten Tuesday post! Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. And this week’s theme is Books with X Setting, and I have decided to replace the X with “Fantasy”. This comes hot on the heels of the Game of Thrones marathon that I have indulged in (guilty as charged) over the past few days, since my return from Goa. Yes, in case you have noticed my absence from blogging in the recent past, I owe you an apology (for not posting and visiting blogs like I should be) and a quick justification that it was all in the name of Game of Thrones (GoT).

Though I had previously made a resolution to only watch GoT over the weekends and blog over the week (the post is here), I barely held on to it once I came back from Goa. I was quite starved and hungry for more GoT. And satisfy that hunger, I did over the past seven days. Now it’s over. I got through all six seasons and I’m waiting anxiously, like a caffeine addict, for the next season to drop. So, in honour of the thrill and joy that GoT has given me, I thought of making this post about books in a fantasy setting.

And here we go:

The Lord of the Rings:

For me, I doubt there will ever be a setting quite like Middle Earth in JRR Tolkien’s The Lord of the Rings. It’s rich, beautiful, enchanting and captivating – unlike anything I’ve ever come across in any book.

lotr

Neverwhere:

Neil Gaiman’s Neverwhere is dark, dangerous and terrifying at worst and mystifying at best. And that’s exactly how London Below is supposed to be. I’ve already done a whole post about it here. So let’s move on.

14497

A Midsummer Night’s Dream:

To be honest, William Shakespeare’s A Midsummer Night’s Dream is what sowed the seeds of interest in fantasy and nurtured it too. His magical little world of fairies and the changeling and pixie dust and of course Puck! It’s indescribable!

1622

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone:

A late initiate to the Harry Potter fan club, I’m slowly making my way through the books now. I just finished the first two books and am gradually finding myself drawn into the world of Harry Potter. And quite happily, I must say.

3

Inheritance Cycle:

Well, Christopher Paolini’s book has made its way on and off of my list of fantasy books that I’ve liked. In short, I’ve oscillated between loving and hating this book. But, I’ll give this book the credit it’s due – considering the fact that it was after all created by a teenage boy and managed to sustain a storyline more successfully than not.

113436

The Tempest:

Another Shakespearean play makes it to this list. Yay! So the Tempest has a brilliant combination of the bizarre, magic and diplomacy. It’s a personal favourite!

12985

A Wrinkle in Time:

Madeline L’Engle’s A Wrinkle in Time starts in what seems like a normal setting where a family with abnormal characters go about. Soon, you get thrown into an abnormal world where these very same characters come across as normal. A good read that I’ve reviewed here.

18131

The Night Circus:

I may have used up my quota of the word ‘magical’, but please excuse me while I use it just once more – for The Night Circus, by Erin Morgenstern. It’s a fantastic book with incredibly well-crafted layers laid one upon the other to make a beautifully gripping story.

night circus

A Song of Fire and Ice:

While I may have not managed to successfully finish the 2nd book (and consequently the rest) of the series, A Song of Fire and Ice deserves a place on this list, simply because it has inspired the Game of Thrones TV show, which has inspired this post. But all said and done, I’m kind of feeling a little motivated to pick up where I left off, in the series. *fingers crossed* I finish it the next time.

13496

Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland:

Last on this list is Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll. I know that I have kind of cried myself hoarse over how the unabridged version of the book has upset me with how bizarre its setting is, for a children’s book. However, keeping aside the fact that it is a children’s book, the world that Lewis Carroll has created is one that’s quite complex and unique.

13023

8 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Books with a Fantasy Setting

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

