Erin Morgenstern’s The Night Circus

night circus

Surreal. It’s the one word that I can use to describe The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern. But somehow that falls short of conveying all that this book is. It is dreamy, captivating, fascinating and mysterious. It’s everything I want from a novel. And it delivered so well on each point. No wonder then that this is the book that I spent the most amount of time on, after Anne of Green Gables, this year.

Though I have been trying my best to keep up with my Goodreads Reading Challenge goals for this year by reading books at a slightly accelerated pace, I really took my time with this one. And I am glad I did. It’s absolutely worth every minute I spent on it. It had me hook, line and sinker.

The Night Circus is about a circus that appears one fine day, and takes an entire town by surprise. But well, that’s the smallest of surprises that the circus brings. It comes alive at night with tents as dark as the night itself and shows as magical as the most incredible dreams. It has performers who will charm you. But there are two performers in particular, Marco and Celia, who come up with the most astounding tents. Erin Morgenstern paints such captivating pictures in these tents that there is only one way to experience it – to read it.

While the two performers draw attention wherever they go, they soon realize that they have been drawn into a challenge that was set a long time ago. They struggle to make sense of the challenge, yet they keep up with it and make the most beautiful exhibits. They clash with each other, yet they are drawn by a mysterious power. They have power, yet they are powerless to fate. Their creations are the stuff of dreams, yet they feel like they are stuck in a nightmare. And all of this makes their story a fantastic read.

I’m so glad I decided to read The Night Circus. All credit goes to all the book bloggers that I follow who have written a review about this – good, bad or ugly. Yes, if you are reading this and have posted about this book, you contributed to my decision to read it. It’s your reviews that pushed me to read it. Thank you! This is one of those rare instances where I have gone by popular opinion about a book and decided to go with it. And let me say this again – I’m so glad I did.

Would I recommend this book? Yes, yes! If you like fantasy novels and are not averse to a little romance, then The Night Circus is a good pick. It has an almost poetic quality which takes you back and forth between different times and it simply should be experienced.

16 thoughts on “Erin Morgenstern’s The Night Circus

Add yours

  1. I started reading this and stopped around 25% because it was a bit slow. But I did find it interesting and also liked the writing style. I plan to finish it by the end of the year. It’s always good to see positive reviews. That makes me want to finish it. Nice review!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

