Books with a Purpose Tag

This post should have gone up 24 hours ago, but it didn’t – looks like it made its way to ‘drafts’ instead of ‘scheduled posts’. A big oops. But I hope you enjoy it, nevertheless!

Picture1.png

A big thank you to Kenyan Library for this tag – it’s always exciting to do a book tag! This is a fun tag to do, because it’s perfect for someone who loves reading – you can talk about books, books, and more books. So yes, here’s another thank you to you, Kenyan Library!

Side note: Could not help but add some special mentions in between – just couldn’t help it.

  1. Best Story Premise:

magic.gif

Hmmm… I guess A Midsummer Night’s Dream by William Shakespeare has one of the best story lines as far as I can tell. It’s dreamy, alright, but the plot is just brilliant. It takes you from the kingly courts to a forest filled with fairies, magic, and pranks. It’s one of the best story premises I have come across.

  1. Best World-Building:

lotr.gif

Have to agree with Kenyan Library here – The Lord of the Rings has a really captivating world filled with really captivating characters (good, bad and ugly). Have to give it to JRR Tolkien for creating a mesmerizing world that’s beautifully narrated in ways that I have yet to come across. Every leaf and landscape has been captured in such fascinating detail that it’s hard to not feel like that world has engulfed you.

  1. Best Character in a Book:

friendship.gif

Oh! I could write pages and pages about this one character that has just made a firm place in my heart – Crowley from Neil Gaiman’s Good Omens. I mean, where do I start? Crowley is the snake from Eden that has made his way down to earth as a human. He has roamed the earth for thousands of years, and is more human than most humans.

I would not want to talk more about this incredibly charming character, because if someone who’s reading this post is actually reading the book or planning to read it in the future, I would rather you discover Crowley and his unlikely friend Aziraphale and their crackling chemistry. For those of you who would like to check out these two characters anyway, please head to my post dedicated to the two of them.

Special Mention: Anne of Green Gables. If I hadn’t come across Crowley and Aziraphale, Anne Shirley of Green Gables would definitely be my top pick. She’s just wo(a)rmed her way into my heart.

  1. Best Series:

hunger games.gif

If I would not have mentioned The Lord of the Rings under the “Best World-Building” section, I would have talked about it here. So, another series that I quite liked (despite its flaws – I have to admit it did) was The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins. It had all the makings of a good series: characters that you don’t know whether you love or hate (check), a story line that managed to hold till the end of the series (check), and a storyline that keeps you invested (check).

  1. Best Tear Jerker (Aka, the John Green Award)

tear jerker.gif

Love Story by Erich Segal is my top pick as a tear jerker. Well, I’m not one to cry too easily with a book. But I did shed a few discreet tears with this. I read this book when I had just got out of school and this was one of the first few books to wring out any emotion from me.

Special Mention: Mayada – Daughter of Iraq by Jean P Sasson – a book that narrates the lives of women who share cells in the Baladiyat prison. It brought moments of tears and genuine surprise. As tough as this book was to read, it was absolutely worth it.

  1. Best Author

tolkien.gif

JRR Tolkien – the way he thinks and translates his imagination into words is unbelievable. Whether it’s in the Lord of the Rings or the Silmarillion, Tolkien’s brilliance is consistent.

Special mention: Neil Gaiman – want to know how much I can rant about his writing? Check out my fangirl post/my review about Gaiman’s Ocean at the End of the Lane, or Neverwhere, or Good Omens.

  1. Best Writing Style:

beautiful.gif

Erin Morgenstern (author of the widely popular Night Circus). Her writing style has a captivating quality to it. It just draws you in. I’m still midway through the book, so my impression of her writing is just based on the first 200 pages of it. But, that in itself has made a huge impact on me. Her writing has an almost Tolkienesque quality to it. Almost. And that’s impressive.

  1. Best Book Cover (You don’t have to own it)

IMG-20160514-WA0006.jpg

Animal Crackers by Hanna Tinti – a book that my awesome friend at Later Alligator Blog owns and I loooove!

  1. Best Ending:

happy ending.gif

From my recent reads, the best ending has been in Neverwhere by Neil Gaiman. It had a touch of drama, a little of the unexpected and well, the feel good element too.

I’m tagging all who read this post to do this! I had a great time looking back at all that I had read, to make this post. And if you think that you too will enjoy it, please give this a go. If you do attempt this tag, please drop a link to your post in the comments here – I’d love to read it. 🙂

Have a great day!

Picture credits: Unsplash and Later Alligator Blog

6 thoughts on “Books with a Purpose Tag

Add yours

  1. Neil Gaiman is one of my all-time favorite authors, and Good Omens was the first (adult) book of his I’d read. I’m definitely going to check out your review of The Ocean at the End of the Lane after this, because I think it’s my favorite of his books so far. If you haven’t had a chance to read Trigger Warning yet (one of his recent short story collections), I highly recommend listening to his audiobook of it, read by Neil Gaiman himself! Hearing him go through the introduction and the origins of each story made it all the more enjoyable.

    I hope you enjoy the Night Circus. I can confidently say it’s my favorite book ever. I think I will give this tag a try; do you mind if I link back to your post? All of your answers were so great! 🙂

    Like

    1. Thank you! I definitely will check out Trigger Warning. I just can’t seem to get enough of Neil Gaiman’s books! He’s just brilliant. 😊

      I’m thoroughly enjoying Night Circus! Really really really glad I found out about it.😊

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

