Weekly Wishlist: PL Travers’ Mary Poppins

Mary Poppins, the movie, is one of my all-time favourites. I have watched it at least 7 times, and I can still watch it another 7 times, because it’s simply “supercalifragilisticexpialidocious”! So, you would imagine that for someone who loves books, and is keen on reading the books before watching its movie version that I would have, by now read the entire book series at least once. But I haven’t. And there’s only one reason – I’m afraid I will like the books more than the movie. I simply have not had the guts to risk that. Until now.

When I was deciding on which books I should be reading in May, as part of my Books by Children’s Authors haul, I came across this series. And I held back from adding it to my list because it’s a series, and it would mean that I would not get the chance to read any other book this month. However, I’m now feeling incredibly bad that I didn’t. And therefore, Mary Poppins is now another book (series) on my Weekly Wishlist.

For me, Mary Poppins the movie (and what I imagine the book to be) epitomises everything wonderful, magical and splendid there is about being a child. In the movie, Mary Poppins (the character) blows in to the lives of Jane and Michael – the two children for whom their parents are looking for a nanny.

There starts an adventure of a magical bag that can hold any number of items that Mary Poppins wants, a song that will convince you that indeed, a spoonful of sugar helps the medicine go down, dances with men who clean chimneys, pictures that let you travel through to different magical places and what not. It’s an adventure that opened my eyes and my mind to the incredible world of imagination that Mary Poppins, the movie had in store. And I’m hoping that the books will take me on an equally, if not more invigorating journey.

 

4 thoughts on “Weekly Wishlist: PL Travers’ Mary Poppins

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

