LM Montgomery’s Anne of Green Gables

For the longest time, whenever I came across the title Anne of Green Gables by LM Montgomery, I always thought about what my mother told me once, when we went to a book exhibition and saw the book there, “Everyone should have read this book as a child. Haven’t you?” It was fair enough that my mother would ask me this, not because she didn’t know what books I owned, but because she could not keep up with all the books I was reading at the school library and the local library too. Even I could not remember all the books I had read by then.

But I knew what I hadn’t read. And this was one. So, I told her very solemnly, “No, I haven’t”. And she gave me one of her serious looks and said, “Well, you should, you should.” Ever since then, I have been dodging reading this book. Why? Well, there was a time, where if you told me to read a book, I would look at it as work, work that I didn’t have to do, and would dodge. And dodge I did back then. Not any longer. Over the past 5 years I have realized that when someone says that I should read a book, it’s only fair to myself to go ahead and make it happen. Or else, it’s me who’s missing out on something.

Well, with that learning still fresh on my mind, I added Anne of Green Gables to my list of books to read for May. And I cannot describe fully in words just how incredibly glad I am that I did. I think this is the one book that I have spent the most time reading (not considering the Clash of Kings by George RR Martin that I did not finish) this year, and I loved every single second I spent with it.

Anne of Green Gables, as you would have guessed, a story about a little girl called Anne. She arrives at Green Gables, adopted by Marilla and her brother Matthew, and lives a splendid adventure that LM Montgomery puts beautifully in words. Anne arrives in a flurry of words, with dreams and an imagination that I just could not resist losing myself in. Anne’s dreams and thoughts cannot be described aptly enough. Their depth, intensity and understanding of the world around her have to be experienced just the way LM Montgomery intended them to be.

The book takes you through five years of Anne’s childhood and her life at Green Gables. And you get to see her transitioning from a freckled, red haired, sceptical yet dreamy child to a young woman who makes Green Gable the place it is – special and beautiful. Anne’s childish and innocent but sharp and clear views on events, Avonlea, people and just about everything in life are incredible.

Honestly, when I was at about 100 pages or so of the book, I wondered, how much imagination can an author pack into a book that’s over 300 pages? And I was worried that the imagination would dry up and leave me waiting for the end of the story. But oh not it didn’t. It just kept me hooked and dragged me in deeper. And as I reached the end of the story, all that I could think about was, “I’m mighty glad this book is followed by 7 more!” The only reason I was glad I finished this book was because it meant I had another chapter of Anne’s life to look forward to, in the next – Anne of Avonlea.

Would I recommend this book? Yes, a thousand times over.

Is this a book that I would at some point like to revisit? Most definitely yes.

The moral of the story? My mother was right, just as she always is. And boy, am I glad she is, in this case 🙂

22 thoughts on “LM Montgomery’s Anne of Green Gables

Add yours

  1. I loved this book as a child. I was a redheaded little girl who got a lot of crap for being me. When I discovered this book, I was in awe. I devoured it so quick, I went to the next one, and the next one..
    I watched the movies and I watched the show “Road to Avonlea”. I was hooked.. I even stayed hooked when I got past book two of the series. My love was dying for the books, I did not like what the author did continuing on with the series. I was confused and hurt. Anne became somebody I did not know. As an adult now. I have re-read the “Anne of Green Gables”. I just pretend it is the only book in the series.
    I am glad you eventually read it. Good advice. Just read the book that is recommended. Nothing to lose, so much to gain.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I loved the first one the most! As for the movies? Fantastic. All three of them. They did veer from the books in the second one some and the third a lot! I preferred the movies to the books except of course for the first book. Little known fact. The woman who played Anne Shirley was not a natural redhead. A friend of mine at the time, was in the running to play Anne. She was one of the 3 girls they were choosing from. She did not get the role and was so mad because she was a natural redhead. I now know to never brink up the book or movie to her. It definitely strikes a bad chord with her.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

