June Reading List

image

It’s time for my June Reading List! Unlike last month, for June, I could only manage to get one book ‘on time’ and in time to do this post, in keeping with my theme for the month – Fantasy Reads! Once I had decided my theme for the month, I sat down to figure out how many books I had that would fit the bill and how many more I would need. I decided I could take 2 from my shelf and buy 3. As usual, after I had ordered, I ran into a bit of bad luck. I ordered three but ended up getting just 1 of them. So, I added one more from my shelf and now I have a reading list of 4 books. Something’s better than nothing! So let me quickly give you a look at the books that I will be reading this month:

1. Kullervo by JRR Tolkein: This book was gifted to me by a dear friend, who knows how dearly I love JRR Tolkein. The reason it’s on this list is because it is a fantasy poem and the first fantasy story written by the author. This is one of those few books that I am determined to read, without checking out the summary or reviews about it, because I want to read this with a fresh mind. I hopefully will have a post about this done by the week following the next!

2. Coraline by Neil Gaiman: My love for the author’s books cannot be put in words. So everytime I get to read one of his books, I’m ecstatic! And this month I get to read Coraline and The Graveyard book – both written by the author. Lucky me! Coraline is a story about a girl who has strange encounters with strange versions of her family in a creepy home. I hope that after I read this, I have the guts to watch the movie, because I really want to watch it!

3. The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman: Illustrated by Chris Riddle, this book is about a young boy who is growing up in a graveyard. Yes, a graveyard. And he is being brought up by ghosts. That’s all I’ve had the heart to discover. I really didn’t want to check out the book summary in any more detail, so I haven’t as yet. I think I will just dive straight into the book.

4. The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern: This book is on my to-read list thanks to the blogging community. Over the past few weeks reviews about this book have been popping up ever so often, I decided I had to read it and experience it too. So here it is!

Happy reading, everyone!

7 thoughts on “June Reading List

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

