Top Ten Tuesday – Ten Reasons I Love Reading

giphy2

Of late I’ve been coming across posts that are doing The Broke and The Bookish’s Top Ten Tuesday feature, and I’ve been thoroughly enjoying it. So, I thought, why not give it a shot over at my blog too?! The first top ten post that I was planning to do was the Beach Reads Week (a personal favourite), which took place last week.

Unfortunately, I got around to doing only half the post before I left on a trip to Hyderabad. So, it sits in my drafts, a sad and half done post, which I really, really want to complete and post (in retrospect), sometime soon! But for now, I present to you my very first Top Ten Tuesday post – Ten Reasons I Love Reading/Books. Let me jump right into the list:

  1. It’s my great escape: Give me a book and watch me make my great escape. Reading is what I run away to, and run into whenever I need a break from reality – which is more often than I can even explain. It’s where I live the life that another writer has imagined and had the courage to express so that I can experience it. When reality get too frustrating or annoying I rely on books to give me that short break from reality.
  1. It’s the company I want and need: I love the fact that with a shelf full of books, I can choose the company I want or need at any time. Want a light-hearted few hours? I pick a Jill Mansell book. Want a complete break from reality? I pick a Neil Gaiman book. Want to take a trip down memory lane? I pick an Eoin Colfer book. Want the thrill of action and adventure without getting off my bed? I pick a Matthew Reilly book. And on and on and on goes my list.
  1. It’s the second best place to let my imagination run: It’s impossible to read a book without letting your imagination run. No matter how limiting the book is. When I read, I can decide exactly how the scene is set, no matter how descriptive an author is. And I absolutely love it. It’s exhilarating. Books are the second best place I can run riot with my imagination – it’s just a little behind what my imagination can do when I write (something fictional, of course).
  1. It’s my time travel machine: Have an Anne of Green Gables book in hand? I get ready to rush off down the lanes in early 20th Have a Shakespearean drama to get through? It’s then time to take off through the courts of mid-16th century, or the imaginary lands of Shakespeare’s mind. You get the drift, don’t you..?
  1. It’s a free ticket to… well, anywhere: Just as much as they are time-travel machines, books are my ticket to anywhere they want to take me. London, Greece, New Zealand, Russia, Japan – the list is obviously never-ending. Of course, one can say that I can get off my butt and actually travel. That’s true. But I would never want to trade those few minutes I get in a day to see a place through the eyes of the author, add my touch of imagination, and enjoy it sitting on my bed, just ten minutes before I sleep.
  1. It’s a great reality check: Sometimes I easily get carried away by the stark contrast I see between my dreams to be one type of writer, and my reality as another. But then I have books like Margaret Atwood’s Negotiating with the Dead and Anita Nair’s Goodnight and God Bless, which give me the reality check I need. They help me reconcile with my reality and still nurture my dreams.
  1. It’s a safe way to swap bodies: Oh who can deny imagining that, after spending a considerable amount of time with a book, you are the protagonist, living his/her life and adventure? As much as books are a reality check for me, they also let me believe that for a few hours, I am Scout in To Kill a Mockingbird, or that I am Blanche DuBois from A Streetcar Named Desire. And I love it.
  1. It’s the one thing that just makes me feel better instantly: Anytime I feel any of the sad, mad or bad feelings on any scale, I just have to pick up a book to feel the transformation in my emotions – I just feel better, thanks to items 1-7 on this list!
  1. It’s invigorating: Reading a book is as good as having a shot of coffee. It is the perfect pick-me-up. Of course, a book along with a great cuppa coffee is a double bonanza!
  1. It’s where I learn without knowing: I’ve yet to come across a book that hasn’t taught me something, no matter how inane, important, ridiculous, impractical, practical, crazy, silly or just plain funny – even when I’m not really not looking to learn, just have a good time.

What’s your favourite reason to read a book? Let me know, I’d love to find out!

 

7 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Ten Reasons I Love Reading

Add yours

  1. I love this! Reading is actually the most incredible experience, and you totally nailed it in this post. (Also, I just wanted to let you know that I’ve nominated you for the Liebster award) 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hey! Thank you so much…! 🙂 There’s a Leibster Award post that I’m putting up tonight. But I also want to do the one that you have nominated me for – the questions are really fun and I want to put that up too. So, I will be doing the one you nominated me for in a week’s time! Thanks again! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

