The Secret Life of a Book Blogger Tag

A couple of weeks ago, Carrianne, from Cuppa Critiques tagged me in – The Secret Life of a Book Blogger Tag. Thanks Carrianne! I must say that while I’ve been putting off doing this post so that I could take my time with answering each of these questions, I’ve taken too much time. So now, I’m jumping right into the tag:

HOW LONG HAVE YOU BEEN A BLOGGER?

I’ve been blogging for about four months now. But boy, does it seem longer! It’s just that this idea I had for the blog to be a place where I share my impressions about books that I read, had been a pipe dream for a long time. I’d been planning, contemplating and shelving this blog idea for nearly 8 months. And it was only roughly about January end of 2016 that I got around to deciding that that it was time for this to stop being a pipe dream and become a reality.

AT WHAT POINT DO YOU THINK YOU WILL STOP?

Hopefully, never! I thoroughly enjoy writing about and documenting my experiences as a book lover, and my thoughts about books. And I want to keep doing this for as long as I read. Hopefully, I never stop reading. Never, ever.

WHAT IS THE BEST PART?

The book hauls that I do are absolutely the best part about blogging for me. I get to select a theme for the month, research about the books that I’m likely to enjoy, and write about them. The anticipation of getting my hands on these books and oh yes, finally getting them delivered to me and knowing that there’s a new set of books to read just completely make for an amazing experience.

WHAT IS THE WORST THING?

Planning out what I want to document over the week is a slight challenge. That’s simply because I have so many things that I want to discuss and talk about, but I don’t know which to do first. To top it off, I worry that if I don’t write about something this week I will forget it the next week. And then what will I do?! So I make lists wherever I can – on my phone, on my laptop, my post-it notes, and in my mind – and successfully lose them all!

HOW LONG DOES IT TAKE YOU TO FIND/CREATE PICTURES TO USE?

Honestly, not long. I am not all that great at taking pictures (thought I can appreciate the good ones), so if a picture I take looks about alright to me, I am satisfied. I don’t really try to pursue perfection in pictures. Therefore, I don’t spend much time on taking the right picture. Finding pictures takes me a fair amount of time. But I use them only if I feel that I absolutely need a picture to complement the post.

WHO’S YOUR BOOK CRUSH?

Crowley from Neil Gaiman and Terry Pratchett’s Good Omens! 🙂

WHAT AUTHOR WOULD YOU LIKE TO HAVE ON YOUR BLOG?

I’m right now an absolutely hopeless fan of Neil Gaiman. I would absolutely love to have the author on my blog!

WHAT DO YOU WEAR WHEN YOU WRITE YOUR BLOG?

Pajamas most often. Simply because I generally blog before I go to bed. This means that I am invariably in my pajamas or in something about as comfortable.

HOW LONG DOES IT TAKE YOU TO PREPARE A POST?

If it’s a post about a book that I just read or one on my thoughts as a reader or my experience as one, it takes about half an hour to forty-five minutes. But if it is a retrospective post about a book I read a few months or years ago, about an author or character, it takes more.

HOW DO YOU FEEL ABOUT THE BOOK BLOGGER COMMUNITY/CULTURE?

Two words for it – love it! It’s a supportive community and welcoming community, and that’s what counts when you are looking to share your thoughts about something that you care about. You want to share it with people who care too. And that’s what the book blogger community has been!

WHAT DO YOU THINK ONE SHOULD DO TO HAVE A SUCCESSFUL BLOG?

As somebody who has just started out here and is still finding her way around, my insights may not exactly be what someone might be able to use to make their blog successful. That said, I have three thoughts that I think may help you along the way as a blogger:

  1. Make a writing plan: This has always helped me to channel my thoughts and to make sure I don’t forget to post about the things that I really want to talk about.
  2.  Engage with the community: People in the community who share your love for books and reading are priceless. With them, you have the opportunity to just share your thoughts and feelings about books and bounce ideas off. It’s great!
  3. Get feedback: It’s essential to get feedback on how your blog looks and how the posts come across from friends or acquaintances who are not likely to be too biased towards you. This will give you an idea of what is working for your readers and what isn’t, and even some errors that are slipping by.

I hope this helps! 🙂

I TAG:

Claire Reviews Stuff
Raeleigh Reads
NYA Reads
Mystery Date with a Book
The Reading Dove

 

 

7 thoughts on “The Secret Life of a Book Blogger Tag

Add yours

  1. I loved reading your answers! I started my blog at around the same time you did, so that’s awesome!

    I really enjoyed your advice as well, and I agree that having a writing plan helps. I usually carve out a day or two there I sit down and write my posts for the week. Everything I don’t write that week gets put in a document on Google docs. (The list is never ending!)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi there! This blog post could not be written much better!
    Reading through this post reminds me of my previous roommate!

    He continually kept preaching about this. I am going to forward this article to him.
    Pretty sure he’s going to have a good read. I
    appreciate you for sharing!

    Like

  3. I have never thought of blogging as a business, I know other people do and do it well. I love writing and am taking time out from finishing a book right now to answer blogs. Thanks for following me. Look forward to reading more posts.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

