How I (Unintentionally) Added Not One, Not Two, But Three Book Series!

Despite being wary about starting books from a series, I have unwittingly ended up picking up two books that are part of a series, in this month’s book haul – A Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L’Engle and The Giver by Lois Lowry. How did I miss this glaring fact (now when I do a random Google search, Goodreads does tell me that one is part 1 of a quintet and the other, part 1 of a quartet)?

Well, to throw light on my unintentional choices, I will have to tell you about how I ended up choosing the books for the book haul this month. Let me do this quickly. When I decided that May would be the month I read books by authors who have written for children (I wasn’t particular that these books be children’s books), I did my research, on Google of course.

I looked for top 10 books by children’s authors, books by children’s authors to be read by adults, etc. (you get the drift). And based on the suggestions that showed up in the listicles, I made a note of some of the books that are most commonly being recommended by these listicles and went ahead and placed an order on Amazon.

When doing all this research, I did not come across even one article that mentioned that these books are part of a series. I found out about this when I read the last pages of both books and realized that I had been left with cliff-hangers. Facepalm.

giphy

But that does not mean I regret picking up these two books. No, not at all. In fact I’m really glad that I did read them. It’s just that I’m not too excited about the thought that with these two books, there are two new series in addition to the 5th Wave series that I started this year that have to be finished. That’s because every time I have an unfinished series, it weighs heavily on me, and my reading schedule.

Anyway, in addition to the theme/genre based reading plans that I will be creating every month this year, I will have to finish these three series – particularly A Wrinkle in Time and The Giver, because these books have had interesting first books.

One thought on “How I (Unintentionally) Added Not One, Not Two, But Three Book Series!

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

