Authors I’d Like to Meet: Matthew Reilly

If there’s one author, whose books I can pick up and read, irrespective of my mood, it is Matthew Reilly’s. His books have the speed and punch that can make the time you spend with his books absolutely worthwhile. My discovery of his books are what I would call a typical happy coincidence.

This happened about 10 years ago, when I was strolling through the aisles of Landmark, one of the most well-known bookstores in Bangalore (for its wide collection of books and reader-friendly atmosphere – all of which have changed over the years). There I came across Seven Ancient Wonders, which had just released and decided on a whim, to buy it.

That was the beginning of my journey as a fan of Reilly. Soon, I was running to pick up Contest, Ice Station, Area 7, Temple, Six Sacred Stones, Five Greatest Warriors, and The Great Zoo of China over time. And in all this time, I can honestly say that the only book that has disappointed me (properly and irredeemably), was the latest release, The Great Zoo of China. All the other books have been incredible page-turners!

What I like best about Reilly is that he doesn’t really wait for you to get settled in with a book before taking you on mind-blowing adventures. From the word go, he expects you to be strapped in and ready to take off. And I can never ever complain about an author who is so decided about the experience his readers should go on.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

