Quote Unquote: Ann Patchett

“It’s always better to have too much to read than not enough”

– Ann Patchett

Whether I’m at home or out and about, I try to live by this quote by Ann Patchett “It’s always better to have too much to read than not enough” – though most often not by choice. When I’m at home, I sleep so much better knowing that at least half the books on my bookshelf are yet to be read. It’s a comforting thought.

When I’m not at home and within reaching distance of by bookshelf, I need to have enough books to pacify my anxious brain that in the event of an apocalypse (that I happen to survive), I will have enough reading material to keep me sane. Or, that in case I’m travelling and my vehicle breaks down (which is a more likely scenario), I will still have the company of books to keep me from panicking.

Or, as I have discovered (happens quite often), it’s good to have enough books to share with the people I’m travelling with, so they have something to keep them entertained when they get bored (and don’t have access to the internet or have devices that are running out of battery), and still have a couple of books with me to spare. Also, I’ve come to realize that you can never underestimate the power of a book as a conversation starter when travelling. It most often leads to very interesting discussions.

Well, all in all I know I sound like I’d rather be a mobile library (no complaints there) than a normal person who is okay with being stranded in a situation without books, and I’m okay with that. Because, it’s true, I’d rather have too much to read than not enough!

Picture credit: Unsplash

7 thoughts on “Quote Unquote: Ann Patchett

Add yours

  1. I have a totally similar way of thinking, there always have to be at least 5 books in my house which I haven’t read yet. I am going to write down this quote and keep as reminder too! Cheers 👍😉

    Liked by 1 person

      1. There is A week in December, The path to perfection, the kite runner, paulo Coelho’s the warrior of light, some management book and 50 shades of grey. I don’t think I will ever get around to reading the last one though 😂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Lol 😊
        A warrior of light is one of those books you can keep around on your bookshelf for years.. and whenever you are in the mood for a small passage or two, just randomly pick a page and it will keep you company.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Totally agree, it’s probably why still it’s on the shelf too 😂 I can never manage to read more than a few passages…..it makes me think and then lose track of time 😜

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

