Cover Snapshots: Vikram Seth’s Beastly Tales from Here and There

I’m really excited to do this post because it’s been a while (almost a month) since I have been planning this, and I had been waiting for “the right moment” to start this new section. And that moment happened when I wrote the blog “Snap! It’s Time for Something New“. It’s since then that I have started rummaging through my bookshelf and my huge cupboard of books back at my parents’ place for books with interesting covers.

For my first book cover, I didn’t have to look too far – I found the book Beastly Tales from Here and There by Vikram Seth which I was in the middle of reading a couple of weeks ago. Voila! I knew that this was the book cover I wanted to discuss. Well, for starters, the book, a Penguin publication, has a cute illustrated front cover with light water colours. The reason I’m featuring this post as the first in this section is that while the illustration is simple, it still is a work of contradiction.

Why, you ask me. Well, if I look at it from the point of view as someone who has not read the book, the title gives me the impression that the book contains tales about beasts. However, the cover illustration shows me something completely different – a sullen and bored frog, looking at a beetle on a blade of grass. Before I started reading the book, I stared at the cover a good few seconds. I then decided that the answer to the small conundrum starting in my head would likely be inside the book. And answers I did find, and happiness too, within the pages of this book!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

