Margaret Atwood’s Negotiating with the Dead: A Writer on Writing

Negotiating with the Dead: A Writer on Writing has been a landmark read in my life for two reasons. Firstly, the book normalized a lot of apprehensions, worries and fears I have as a writer. I don’t think there was a particular statement or phrase that did it. It was a gradual process that started from the first page and still continues.

Secondly, it very forcibly made me reconsider the strong dislike I had for Margaret Atwood, following a rather harrowing experience reading her novel Surfacing. Atwood’s Negotiating with the Dead is the book that I reach for, anytime I feel like I need a jolt to get me out of whatever mind block or chaos it is that’s holding me back from feeling better as a writer. It’s the book that tells me that I will be okay.

The first time this realization dawned on me that this book would play an unimaginably big role in my life, I was quite surprised. At no point did I expect to like a Margaret Atwood book, much less have it be my guide. The book is actually a collection of lectures that Atwood spoke on at the University of Cambridge. After editing them, she compiled them into the book, which has 6 chapters with really interesting titles like “Dedication: The Great God Pen” and “Communion: Nobody to Nobody”.

As I mentioned at the beginning, my relationship with the book still continues. I haven’t finished reading the entire book, and I hope I don’t – at least as long as I am a writer. It’s a book that I want to take small bits of inspiration and comfort from any time I want. It’s a book that I hope will always have something to offer me always.

5 thoughts on “Margaret Atwood’s Negotiating with the Dead: A Writer on Writing

Add yours

  1. This book is on my shelf, but I have not picked it up. I do love Atwood, though! Try her poetry and The Handmaid’s Tale – I don’t think that Surfacing is the book I would have suggested anyone start with. I hope you give her another chance now that you’ve had a good experience with Negotiating with the Dead.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh yes, absolutely… 😊 I have read her Handmaid’s Tale – about a month ago and totally liked it. I’ve reviewed that one too! That and Negotiating with the Dead have really helped me get over the trouble I had with Surfacing. I now have Oryx and Crake on my shelf.. 😊

      Like

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

