May Book Haul & Reading List

I know I’m ten days too late with this month’s book haul, but I’m going with the cliché “better late than never”, to make myself feel better. This month I decided to go with the theme of books written by children’s authors. So, I wasn’t really particular about reading books tailored for children, as long as they were by authors for children. That said, here’s a quick rundown of the wonderful list of books that I have pulled out for myself for this month:

Tuck Everlasting by Natalie Babbit: This book is the only reason this book haul is this late! All the other books were at my (office) doorstep by the 2nd of May. But Tuck Everlasting took its own sweet time and came 2 days ago, when I was on a trip to Masinagudi. The second I decided that this month’s book reading theme would be books by children’s authors (not necessarily their children’s books), I knew the first novel that would make it to the list was Tuck Everlasting by Natalie Babbit. I had watched the movie by the same name a few years ago, before I knew that it was based on a book. The only reason I watched the movie before I read the book was because I was a huge Alexis Bledel fan (thanks to Gilmore Girls). After I had watched it, I was certain that someday I would read the book!

A Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L’Engle: Though not in the strictest sense a children’s book author, Madeline L’Engle has authored a few children’s books before she started focusing on young adult novels. When I was looking up books by this author, A Wrinkle in Time, a Newbery Medal winning novel was the first to show up. And I bought this book without reading a word of the summary or a review – simply because the title sounded too good to me! Go figure. And after I placed the order for the book, I discovered that it is part of a series of not 2, not 3, but 5 books! I don’t know how or when I will get around to finishing this series, and it’s worrying me already.

The Giver by Lois Lowry: This month’s book haul has seen another Newbery Medal winning book, this time by Lois Lowry, who has written several books for children. From a list of books by children’s authors, The Giver stood out for me because it is set in a utopian/dystopian society (like the Divergent series) – and I have a thing for this genre of novels. Also, the book has been made into a movie, one that I hope to catch soon. Really looking forward to reading this book.

Little Women by Louisa May Alcott: As a child I had read the abridged version of this book back then. To relive the memory of having read the book, after watching the movie with Susan Sarandon in it (*swoon*), I decided to buy a copy of the book at a much discounted price. Unfortunately what I landed up with was a poorly edited version of the book. I still cringe when I think about it. When I was shortlisting books for this month’s read, I decided that this being a strong coming of age book, should be moved to my Amazon cart, and move it, I did!

Anne of Green Gables by LM Montgomery: The quintessential classic children’s novel, Anne of Green Gables is solely on my list because of my mum. A few years ago I had been to a book event with my parents, where a whole diverse range of books were on display. And there she saw a copy of Anne of Green Gables and remarked “This is a book every child should have read” (to say that my mum loves her classics is an understatement). Since I could not remember having read it, I decided that someday I would get around to it. And looks like this May is going to be it!

Have you read any of the books on this list? What did you think about it? Do let me know your thoughts – I’d love to hear them.

28 thoughts on “May Book Haul & Reading List

Add yours

      1. Oh so many, every level/ year is full of great book selections. We will have Charlotte’s Web, the whipping boy , Iggy’s house among many others in 7-9 and hugo cabaret still in 9-11, and lots of others like the people of sparks, the number of stars, the giver in 10-12 !

        Liked by 1 person

  1. For some reason, I have been wanting to re-read The Giver. I read it in middle school and it was one of those books that has stayed in the back of my mind. I’m curious if it is as good as I remember or how I would feel about it now.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I loved it the first time around. If I remember correctly, it’s a quick read. I remember being completely shocked and really thinking about the message behind the book.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

