Why I’m Wary about Starting Books from a Series

So, of late, I have become quite wary about starting a new book series. This random realization struck me, when I was looking at my Goodreads feed for book recommendations based on what I recently read (loved the last recommendation for The Good Fairies of New York). It seems like my most of my feed has suggestions of books that are part of a series. And I am extremely reluctant to click on any of them to even just get an idea of what they are about.

It now feels like every series is a huge commitment. Once you start a series, it’s nearly the only thing that plays on my mind. Finish book 1, get on to the next one soon, quickly get to the end of book 2, get to the next one, find out how the series ends. It’s a long journey. And as I already have a lot of things on my plate, a series taking up so much of my time feels wrong.

What makes it worse is the fact that most books that are part of a series are quite big. And the stories sometimes drag, just because they have to be spread over the three books. And add to it the fact you never know how the series is going to end even after you have invested hours and hours in it. This really wears me out.

One such book with which I had a slightly sour experience was The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins. Loved the first book, liked the second one, and felt the third was pointless – after a month of reading it. Had a very similar experience with The Maze Runner too!

Right now, the only series that I have on my Reading List is The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey. While I quite liked the first book, my hopes are not too high for the second or third in the series (lest they come crashing down). Now when I see a series, I quickly scroll through to find a standalone book.

Are there any series that you would recommend? I’ve loved The Lord of The Rings, Artemis Fowl, Princess Diaries, and yes, even the Inheritance series. Do let me know if there are any series that could possibly break me out of this new mind-set that I have developed.

15 thoughts on “Why I’m Wary about Starting Books from a Series

Add yours

  1. I can relate to what your saying! Taking on a series can be such a continent and daunting but I think it’s worth it when you find a good series.
    I’m also recommending Red Rising because it’s brilliant! The Tearling series is quite good when you get into it as well.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I totally will! 😊 The 5th Wave was quite good in the beginning, but a few clichés kind of set me back. It’s anyway a good read – the story is worth it.. 😊 I’ve kind of recorded my impression about the first book on the blog, but it’s not a review at all.. I’m yet to start the second book!

        Like

  2. Hiya,

    I totally understand this! I’ve got the Maze Runner waiting on my iPad, but it’s four books and I once I start, I won’t be able to stop. I’ll just have to finish the series. And I’ll feel like I’ve wasted so much time afterwards if it turns out not to be a good series.

    But sometimes, you’ve got to take a risk and you’ll get happily surprised. That’s why I want to recommend this book series: Under the Never Sky by Veronica Rossi. Also YA, also dystopian, but quite surprising and not too unbelievable. Also not too many cliches. I think you’ll like it!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Agree with you on the commitment to start a series of books. It’s exciting at first but if time is a commodity I tend to want it to come to an end quickly. My first series way back in the day was Flowers in the Attic by V.C Andrews. That kept me entranced till I completed all the books and never after that felt such a compulsion to finish a series. Not sure if it has anything to do with fewer distraction back then. I am currently on the Diana Gabaldon Outlander series, if you like history and time travel give it a look. The love story is keeping me going on. Salute your love for reading! Thanks for following my blog recently.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi! Thank you.. I agree with you that back when I started reading books series were the kind that I would actually look out for. It meant a long story that you could invest in over a summer vacation and enjoy thoroughly. But now it’s become more tedious. Hey I have the last couple of books from the Outlander series with me, but haven’t started it yet cuz I haven’t gotten around to finding the 1st few. 😀 I think I will start looking for it now!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I know what you mean about series, it can be a commitment but a wonderful one if you find a good one! I absolutely love the Outlander series, great writing and plot, it really pulls you in. A wonderful love story at the heart of it all, with great doses of history, mystery, and fantasy thrown in. But a huge commitment, those books are BIG! A slightly different take on a series is books that feature the same protagonists but can also be stand-alines, which is the case for many mystery series. I really love the Inspector Monk series by Anne Perry (historical fiction) and the Detective Inspector Thomas Lynley series by Elizabeth George (contemporary). Great writing and characters in those too, and you don’t have to read all the books, although if you get into them you really enjoy seeing the characters change and develop over the series.

    Like

    1. Oh yes! Stand alone book series would make more sense for me I guess… but I’ve heard quite a bit about the Outlander series.. will hopefully check it out soon! Thanks for the recommendation! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

