My Weekly Wishlist – Hard-Boiled Wonderland and the End of the World – Haruki Murakami

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

When a friend suggested that I read What I Talk About when I Talk About Running by Haruki Murakami, I just “Googled” the book just to get a feel of what people are saying about the book (not to get the summary, oh no). And one thing led to another, and Goodreads suggested that I check out Hard-Boiled Wonderland and the End of the World. Now it sits on my Weekly Wishlist with Howl.

Now a title like that just screams for attention. Attention that I am more than willing to give. So I clicked on it, and just briefly found out that the book is in two narratives – Hard-Boiled Wonderland, and The End of the World. And it alternates between the two. That’s all I know so that’s all I can say. Then, when I found out that Murakami calls this book his favourite among what he has written, I was further intrigued.

Another reason I’m so fixated on this book is that I really want to find out the reason the two narratives are called what they are. Well, actually there is a long list of reasons. Add to it the fact that in the Independent, Richard Lloyd Parry states that the book “Combines a witty sci-fi pastiche and a dream-like Utopian fantasy in two separate narratives which alternate in an interweave of precognition and deja vu”. This description has a combination of all the words that I like!

So now all that I can do is think about when I’m going to get my own copy of the book. It cannot be this month, because I have decided to dedicate it to books by Indian authors. If I pick up this book there is a very strong likelihood that I will put all other books on hold and read this. It’s a risk I cannot take. Especially after my last month’s failure with A Clash of Kings.

6 thoughts on “My Weekly Wishlist – Hard-Boiled Wonderland and the End of the World – Haruki Murakami

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

