Monthly Book Haul & Reading List for April

Soon after I had written the post about my experience with Indian authors, I kind of had this pang to check out more books by these authors. And one thing led to another, and before I knew it I was ordering books by Indian authors. So, by default, these books became a part of my Monthly Book Haul and my Reading List for this month. Now let me introduce you to the books that have recently made their way to my bookshelf.

The Japanese Wife:

I was intrigued by the fact that Kunal Basu’s The Japanese Wife is actually a collection of short stories, of which The Japanese Wife is just one of the stories. The book has thirteen other titles that I have not discovered more about in reviews. I’d rather do it while reading the book. But from what I’ve understood, The Japanese Wife (the story) is quite touching. Also, after my long-drawn (and sadly pointless) experience with A Clash of Kings, I’m quite looking forward to reading short stories like The Grown Up.

Malgudi Days:

RK Narayan’s Malgudi Days has been one of those books about which I’ve heard ever since I was a child, but I perhaps got around to reading just about a story or two from it in school. From then, the book has been on my reading list. And now that I’ve made the decision to read books by Indian authors this month, I felt that it was only fitting that I add the book here. I’m definitely looking forward to reading this book soon! Malgudi Days too, is a collection of short stories.

Good Night and God Bless:

Good Night and God Bless by Anita Nair will probably be the last book that I finish this month. The book, quite like the first two books on this list, is a collection of essays on eclectic topics. From what I have read in Mistress and Ladies Coupe, it seems to me that Anita Nair is one of the Indian authors who writes to affect without trying too hard.

Beastly Tales from Here and There:

Vikram Seth was the first Indian author whose poem I read. “A Doctor’s Journal Entry”, was a poetic reflection of one doctor’s experience immediately after the nuclear explosion in Hiroshima. I distinctly remember the first time I read the poem – because it was also the tenth time I read it. I just could not get over how Vikram Seth had made such a big impact with so few words. And I’m eagerly waiting to relive the experience with the Beastly Tales from Here and There, a collection of ten poems in which the main characters are – you guessed it – beasts from India, China, Greece, Ukraine and the Land of Gup.

The White Tiger:

Have you ever come across a book so often in book stores that you feel like it’s calling to you, asking you to take it with you? Well, I have, and that book is The White Tiger by Aravind Adiga. However, I did not pick the book any of those times that I visited book stores. Nope. I picked it up when I needed to complete this reading list of books by Indian authors. Anyway, this book is supposed to be about a young Indian’s dream of making it big and rising above his present circumstance, and all that he comes across in the meanwhile. Based on the reviews I’ve read, this book seems to be a typical rags to riches type of story and one that caters to the stereotypical notions about India. While that doesn’t sound too exciting, I’m holding on to my assumptions.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

