Books I’d Like to Read After I Watch the Movie: The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight

There’s probably just one reason why The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight by Jennifer E Smith is on my list of books to read. It’s because I haven’t read a simple and cute romance in a long time. And those are the exact words that most people who have read the novel, are using to describe it. The last romance novel I read was The Fault in Our Stars by John Green and to say that it was a disappointment is an understatement.

So, here’s what I understand the book is about. It’s a story of a seventeen year old who misses her flight to her father’s second wedding and is stranded at the airport, where she meets a boy with whom she falls in love. The story follows them on the flight journey and after, when they lose contact. What follows, I believe is what makes for the meat of the story.

Initially, this book was on my list of books I want to read before I watch the movies. However, the more I read the synopsis and try to get a feel for the book, I realize that this might be one of the books that I’d like to read after I watch the movie. The reason is simple.

Unlike other books like The Lord of the Rings, The Martian or The Hunger Games, which have grand settings, strong visual elements and a range of characters that I would enjoy imagining for myself, this book, I think does not have much visual range. Which is perfectly fine for a book that has a simple story line. And it’s books like this with which I would like to take the liberty of watching the movie before I read the book.

4 thoughts on “Books I’d Like to Read After I Watch the Movie: The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight

Add yours

  1. I think sometimes it depends. I greatly prefer the film Stardust to the novel, and I like others of Neil Gaiman’s work, so it isn’t the author. I saw the film before I read it, but I’m not sure if I’d’ve watched it if I’d read it first. Likewise with Atonement, actually, although I haven’t read anything else by him, so I don’t know if it’s him…But generally, yes I agree. Watching films ruins books, for the most part.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

