Quote Unquote: PJ O’ Rourke

Ever since I came across this statement (a few months ago), I have been quite worried. Not about dying as much as about the list of things that I would be doing, wearing, saying, holding etc., when I die. Quite a morbid thought to start with, but there’s so much to it.

To be honest, this got me thinking about the books (or rather, the genre of books that I would happily be caught in the middle of when I die, those that I can ‘live with’ if it happens, and books that I definitely do not (100%) want to have in my hand or around me when I kick the bucket.

In the first category of books would be – right at the top of the list, all the way up – would be JRR Tolkien’s Lord of the Rings (honestly, any of his books would be totally fine, but LOTR has a very warm fuzzy special place in my heart). If I die, I’d love for it to be in the middle of all the high drama and beautiful landscapes that Tolkien has imagined. Next, would be William Shakespeare’s Midsummer Night’s Dream or Julius Caesar (or any play, but no sonnets). Third would be any of Neil Gaiman’s books, but I really wouldn’t mind it if the Grim Reaper came when I’m in the middle of my very own copy of Sandman. No complaints.

The second category would comprise of Mark Twain’s Huckleberry Finn and Adventures of Tom Sawyer, Tennessee William’s Cat on a Hot Tin Roof and Margaret Atwood’s Negotiating with the Dead (this is one incredible book that I haven’t had the heart to finish because I love to savour this book 2 pages at a time, a few weeks at a time – a must-read for all writers). In the third category would be the Vampire Diaries series, Fifty Shades of Grey and sadly, the Twilight series. Just cannot imagine being caught in the middle of any of these books when I die. No way!

Of course, there is a long list of books that fall in all three categories. The three that I’ve picked for each just happen to be the top contenders. That’s all…

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

