March Book Haul

March Book Haul

Introducing the Book Haul posts! I plan to buy around 4 to 5 books every month, read them all and review them before the end of the month. One exception that I will be making this month is that I will not be finishing all the books on this list, because I already have a reading list planned for March, and these books came in after that. However, I have read one book from this month’s haul – The Supernaturalist.

American Gods by Neil Gaiman: This is the first Gaiman book I owned and goes on my list of books that I’m halfway through, and haven’t yet gotten around to finishing. The only reason I haven’t seen the end of this book is because I lost it. Yes, I did. No, I still haven’t gotten over it. However, the only reason I didn’t hyperventilate is because I am quite certain I left it in one of the Goan beachside shacks that has a tiny library of its own.

Quite used to picking up books from their library while I enjoy the sand under my feet and a glass of port wine, I mistakenly assumed that my copy of American Gods was theirs. This means that right now there could be some ‘lucky soul’ who is sitting in the shack, with the sand under their feet and a glass of port wine, enjoying the robust American Gods. So, when I came across this copy of the book on Amazon, I grabbed it.

Coraline by Neil Gaiman: After reading the summary of Coraline, I contemplated quite a bit before I actually clicked the ‘buy’ button. The reason being that horror, or what even remotely passes for horror, is just not my genre. And dark fantasy came eerily close to it. To add to my concerns, most people were saying that the book was “creepy”. Anyway, what dragged me over to the other side was the trailer that I saw for the 2009 movie Coraline, based on this book. It kind of reassured me. So, once I’m done with this book, I hope to get right on to the movie.

Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman: I happened to pick up this book because of two reasons – one a friend was raving about it (now I can’t recollect whether it was about the cover or about the storyline), and two, I was getting this at a real good discounted price. Now who am I to say no to a well-acclaimed book, which comes at a discount?

The Sleeper and the Spindle by Neil Gaiman: Oh! I don’t have words to tell you how thrilled I was to just come across this book! It was a treat, a truly special treat to be able to hold this book in my hands. I have coveted this book for so long, it’s unfair. The illustrations by by Chriss Riddle, in this reimagined version of the Sleeping Beauty and Seven Dwarves, are so intriguing, I could look at them all day. Sooo looking forward to reading this. One more similar book that I’m waiting to buy is Hansel and Gretel, illustrated by Lorenzo Mattotti, and authored by Neil Gaiman.

The Supernaturalist by Eoin Colfer: This was again one of the books that I’ve wanted to read, but I felt had always had a big price tag on it, and hadn’t bought it. So, when I found it on discount, I just went for it. And this happened to be the only book from this month’s haul on my reading list. Want to know what I think about The Supernaturalist?

7 thoughts on “March Book Haul

Add yours

      1. You know, it’s been so long I have no idea why I stopped, lol. I have a very long TBR list and I’m trying to get some ARC reviews done, so I’ll get back around to it eventually!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

