March 2016 Reading List

Before I dive into details about the books I plan to read in March, let me talk a little bit about a small but irritating habit of mine – reading books halfway and getting distracted by shiny toys (read: other books). It’s quite annoying. Right now I have about 5 books hanging around in limbo. Of them, 2 are in the list below – Neverwhere and A Clash of Kings. And I hope to finish the two, along with the 3 other fresh new books that I plan to finish this month.

Neverwhere: If you have read my posts about Good Omens and The Ocean at the End of the Lane, you would know that I am a huge fan of Neil Gaiman. Both the books excited me so much, that I did not think twice about picking up a third Neil Gaiman book in the same month. And so, I went in for Neverwhere, a book that a friend of mine spoke very high of. However, this book was quite different from the others that I read. It’s quite dark and mysterious alright. But it’s also too much, too soon. So, for no fault of the book, I have put it on hold one too many times. And now I am determined to finish it. Simply because I know that there are 3 other superbly interesting books by the author that I’m going to get soon! Well, of course, I will read another of his books only after a few weeks.

Supernaturalist: Eoin Colfer. This name has been a big part of my teen years as the brilliant creator of Artemis Fowl. Yes, I know it’s for a younger audience. But where Eoin ColferEoin Colfer’s genius is involved, there’s no question of age. I’m in fact guilty of recommending Artemis Fowl to my mum in her late forties. Anyway, that said, I have had a considerably long (albeit involuntary) hiatus from his books, and I intend to right it by reading Supernaturalist. Sooo looking forward to it!

The Big Bad Wolf: As the cliché goes, you either love James Patterson books or you hate them. And I happen to be one of the fortunate who really really like his books. Nevertheless, it has been a while since picked up a James Patterson book. I remembered this when a friend (the same one who recommended Neverwhere) reminded me about the author. And off I went hunting for a James Patterson book, which soon became any James Patterson book that I hadn’t read and was reasonably priced, because it seemed like most of his titles were priced quite high. And along came The Big Bad Wolf.

The 5th Wave: I’m quite adamant that whenever possible, I will read a book before I watch the movie. The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey seems like a movie that I would be inclined to watch. So, I decided to just go ahead and read the book first. Anyway, I had the book with me (gifted by a former colleague). The plot premise tells me that this book might be just up my alley and that I might enjoy this book quite a bit. Hope I’m not disappointed.

A Clash of Kings: Oh George RR Marin, why must you write huge books? But then again, if you didn’t we wouldn’t get to enjoy characters more complex than the DNA’s double helix structure, and storylines that make my head spin. Yes, a Clash of Kings, the second book in the Game of Thrones book series, has been one book that I battled with the whole of last year, and yet barely got through half of it. Don’t get me wrong, the book is amazing. It’s just that it’s too long. And if I don’t finish it by this month end, I hope I have the perseverance to continue to chase the end whenever it arrives.

So, now I have 5 books lined up for the 5 weeks of this month. Yippee!

8 thoughts on “March 2016 Reading List

Add yours

  1. I really enjoyed The 5th Wave!! I read it a couple of years ago, but I remember thinking that it was the best book I read in that period of time. I hope you enjoy it too 😀
    I didn’t watch the movie for The 5th Wave because I heard that it wasn’t very good since they didn’t stick true to the characters in the book… But if you do end up watching it, please do a comparison and review of both the book and movie. Maybe I’ll decide that I should watch them movie after all! 🙂

    Like

    1. That’s nice! I’m looking forward to reading The 5th Wave soon before watching the movie.. Hopefully I’m able to stick to this month’s reading list 😄
      And yes, like you suggested I will do a comparison of both, if I watch the movie too! 😊

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

